The 2022 jury for the Jan Wallander Prize

Staffan Scheja

Staffan Scheja

Staffan Scheja is Professor and Adviser to the vice-chancellor at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm.

Staffan Scheja made his debut as pianist at fourteen with conductor Herbert Blomstedt and the Swedish Radio Orchestra. After studies for Prof. Gunnar Hallhagen at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm, he was accepted to the Juilliard School in New York, studying with Rosina Lhevinne, Ilona Kabos and Ania Dorfmann.

In 1975 he received the highest prize in the Busoni International Competition. Since then he has given concerts all over the world with conductors such as sir Simon Rattle, David Zinman, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Sixten Ehrling, Okko Kamu and with orchestras such as the Munich Philharmonic, the French Radio Orchestra in Paris, the NHK in Tokyo, the English Chamber Orchestra and with all the major Scandinavian orchestras.

He has made numerous recordings with EMI, BIS, Vanguard and LCM and has received two Swedish Grammy Awards.

In 1995 Staffan Scheja received the Royal medal ”Litteris et Artibus” for prominent artistic achievements.

Staffan Scheja is a frequent adjudicator in competitions such as Queen Elisabeth, Sendai, Clara Haskil and Stanislav Neuhaus.

He is the founder and artistic director of the Gotland Chamber Music Festival on the island of Gotland in the Baltic sea and resides in Stockholm.

He is also vice chairman of the Royal Academy of Music in Sweden.

Avri Levitan

Avri Levitan

Avri Levitan, born in Israel, is the founder and artistic director of Musethica, an educational program dedicated to give concerts in old age homes, refugee camps, prisons among others.

He is a sought after soloist and chamber musician, and performs regularly as soloist with the major orchestras in Berlin, Vienna ,Tokyo and Madrid.

He is a frequent guest professor in the major music schools around the world.

He now resides in Berlin.

Beatrice Muthelet

Beatrice Muthelet

Beatrice Muthelet grew up in Versailles  before moving to Israel to study with Chaim Taub and Isaac Stern.

Aged nineteen she continued her studies in New York with Pinchas Zukerman.

She has for many years been principal violist in Mahler Chamber Orchestra and also has appeared as soloist with the orchestra.

She is internationally active as soloist and chamber musician and  founded 2002 the Capucon Quartet.

She now resides in Paris.