Charlotta Grahn Wetter – winner 2016

Charlotta Grahn Wetter – winner 2016

Charlotta Grahn Wetter comes from Gothenburg. She started playing the violin at the age of four and was taught according to the Suzuki method. She has previously studied under Lars Kvensler and David Bergström at the Göteborg Opera Orchestra, and also under Gunnar Crantz and Peter Herrestahl. Charlotta completed her bachelor’s and master’s degrees at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm (KMH), studying under Professor Henryk Kowalski, and since the autumn of 2015, she has been pursuing a two-year Advanced Study Programme in Interpretation at the college.

In November 2014, Charlotta appeared as a soloist in a performance of Karol Szymanowski’s Violin Concerto No. 1 together with the KMH Symphony Orchestra and conductor Fredrik Burstedt. In the autumn of 2015, she was a semi-finalist in the Ljunggren Competition for Young Musicians and later performed as a soloist in Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto at the Spira Concert Hall together with the Jönköping Symphony Orchestra Association. As an orchestral and chamber musician, Charlotta has appeared in many different contexts, including the Askanäs Concerts, the Skägga Music Festival, Sweden’s Young Chamber Soloists, the International Vadstena Academy, Musica Vitae, the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, the Royal Swedish Orchestra and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra.

She has participated in master classes taken by Ulf Wallin, Henning Kraggerud, Boris Brovtsyn, Christian Svarfvar, Federico Agostini, Mark Messenger and Alena Baeva, and in chamber music ensembles of Martin Fröst, the Kungsbacka Piano Trio, Paul Roberts, Stefan Bojsten, Mats Zetterqvist and Torleif Thedéen.

Charlotta has been awarded scholarships from, among others, the Freemasons’ Anniversary Fund, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music, the Willinska Foundation, the Kempe-Carlgrenska Foundation, the Carl Erik Levin Foundation and Mr. and Mrs. Lindeqvist’s Endowment Fund.

Prize citation

The winner of the 2016 prize has a very beautiful tone – a sound with lustre and intensity. Our prizewinner’s musicality and expressive skills generate rare concentration among audiences, moving them deeply.

Charlotta Grahn Wetter - vinnare 2016
Violin tillverkad av i Bologna av Joannes Florenus Guidantus år 1731 - inköpsår 2016

A violin made in Venice by Michele Deconet in 1750.

  • The two-piece back plate is made of flame-grained maple – as are the ribs and scroll.
  • The two-piece top plate is made of alpine spruce, with medium to fine annual rings.
  • The varnish is of a golden yellow colour on a golden background.
  • The body measures 356mm in length.